Broken Daughters

Picking up the shattered glass of fundamentalism

Thank you, Melissa!

2 Comments

Melissa from Permission to Live recently finished her series of posts in which she talks about a transition in her family. And when I first found out that this transition was that her spouse came out to her, opened up that he was, in fact, a woman, and wanted to live as a woman, I got really scared.

Really, really afraid for Melissa.

Why?

Not because of her spouse, or the transition – at least, not directly.

Melissa’s entire blog expresses so much love for her spouse, always has done, that I was afraid that this story would end with a break up. Yup, that was the only fear I had when I read it.

I love Melissa’s blog. It’s so encouraging and helpful for me and many many others. And I was so happy for her, reading her courtship story, that she ended up with a man who actually, truly respected her. Melissa and her spouse, even if I don’t know them at all, seemed so perfect for each other.

I can’t really explain why I feared that so much. Of course, if things don’t work out, you just have to let go sometimes. There’s no point for either spouse to stay in a relationship they know will never be what they want and need. And yet, I still hoped Melissa had found a way to make it work for her as well.

And, as she slowly revealed, they did. When I read the last installment, I was literally crying of happiness for her and her wife. It’s so encouraging to hear that things turned out well, that they were even more perfect for each other than I ever can imagine.

I want to use this post to congratulate Melissa and her wife on their new life together. On a personal note – I know how scary it is to go back to school without an idea what will be coming your way. But I’m sure that you have all the strength and support you need to find your way. And, of course, tell your wife I wish her good luck as well with her new career! I honestly wish that I will one day have at least a tiny bit of the strength and grace you two have.

2 thoughts on “Thank you, Melissa!

  1. Pingback: Our own Melissa is on Jezebel!

  2. Thank you Lisa. I have been crying several times today from the incredible amount of love and support we’ve been getting from so many. We are happy to be together, and looking forward to the future. Thank you for the good wishes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers