Broken Daughters

Picking up the shattered glass of fundamentalism

Busy days

1 Comment

Phew, what a busy week!

After I moved out from my parent’s, I had a great group of people who supported me by giving me basic furniture for free. I’m very thankful for that, because without them I wouldn’t have been able to save up some money.

However, my used bed broke down two days ago! Can you imagine, being sound asleep at night and suddenly BAM you’re in free fall? I woke up in terror, screaming, thinking, i don’t know, somebody broke in and threw me out of the bed. It took me half an hour to calm down and relax my heart hehe. I spent the rest of the night sleeping on the couch and took a look at the mess in the morning. It looked so broken to me, and I had no idea how to fix something like that. So my friend called one of her friends over, a handyman, who came to take a look at it. He told me that the wood was too broken to be really fixed. He did a temporary fix on it but told me to expect another breakdown any time.

Well I decided that I needed a new bed and went shopping for it. I found one yesterday and was able to take it with me that day. At home, we managed to build it together all by ourselves, just my friend and me! I was so excited! It’s actually my first big furniture piece I bought with my own money.

I love it, it’s pretty and white and it’s just making me so proud that I could work it out without major help. I know it sounds silly, but it’s special to me.

When I left the fundamentalist movement, I was told that I as a woman had no chance to live on my own. I’d need men sooner or later and I’d have to pay them with sex because that’s just how they see the world. I’d end up abused and drug addicted in a broken down room somewhere in the worst part of town.

I’m so proud. Going to bed has never been this fun!

One thought on “Busy days

Leave a Reply

