Broken Daughters

Picking up the shattered glass of fundamentalism

Let’s talk about….

7 Comments

Since I’m so uninspired and I didn’t feel like I had anything interesting to add to the blogosphere for days I decided to talk about something very dear to my heart today.

It’s one of my favourite things. One of the things I can’t live without. One of the things I could talk about for days.

Let’s talk about food!

I’m obsessed with eating anything that is only remotely edible. I’ll try everything at least once. I know nothing such as disgust. It’s made in a desert by bedouins, who used questionable meat and a brownish paste you suspect to be made of mostly camel poo? I’ll eat it! And no, I didn’t mean that in a racist way. Oriental food is among the best in the world and I would give a lot to wander through Marrakesh’s streets and try everything I see.

But moving on: German food. Over the last couple of years german food has been kind of “hyped” in the US. I mean restaurants that promise you 100% original german food. I’ve been to two when I still lived in the US and now that I live in Germany I can tell you that what they sell you there is a wild mash-up of things people here wouldn’t mash together if you paid them to. I have earned a lot of disgusted looks when I suggested to eat sour kraut AND red kraut on the same plate. “WHAT? You’re not going… WHAT??? You can’t do that. That’s…. DISGUSTING!” There’s actual, unchangeable rules which kraut is to be served with certain meats. Example: Sour goes ONLY with pork, red ONLY with beef. No mixing cause that’s like a major crime.

I found that the American “German” restaurants also mash-up too many areas when it comes to food. I mean sure, you want variety, but you actually end up missing out on a lot of amazing things because they want to serve what you imagine to be very german. Example?

Bread. I have yet to see a good bread meal in a german restaurant. Not even the restaurants here serve a real good one… that is, unless you go to a beer garden. That’s where the good foods are!

There is nothing like a beautiful sunny day at the beer garden with a traditional bread meal:

The yellowish paste you see on the second picture is the real good stuff. It might look gross, but it’S heaven. The paste is called “Obatzer” (sometimes “Obatza”). It’s a dialect word that translates into something like “mashed up”, “mixed” or “mess”. It’s not a very positive word as it implies messiness and a bit grossness as well. It consists of a variety of mashed up cheese (varying from beer garden to beer garden) and some butter. The color comes from the spices used, typically salt, pepper and red (bell) pepper powder. Additional spices may be used but don’t have to. And oh, it is soooo good! It’s perfect for hot days, and serving it on plates is a crime. You get actual wooden plates or simply pieces of wood that it’s served on. I’m lucky to live in beer garden heaven and the last few days have been warm and nice, the beer garden season is about to start, I can’t wait!

Another thing that you might find disgusting at first is pancake soup. Yes, that is soup with actual pancakes in it. The pancakes are made without any sweet stuff you might add (such as vanilla, sugar or cinnamon). Just plain pancakes (flour, eggs, milk, a hint of salt). Once they are a bit cooled they are rolled and sliced into fine, thin pieces and then warmed up in broth (any you like). It’s called “Flädlesuppe”, which basically means… well, pancake soup!

Among the favourite fast foods here is something called Döner (Or Kebab). It’s, as you might have guessed, of oriental origin. I know there’s kebab in the US, but this is different.

It’s basically flat bread filled with real good chicken (or beef, never pork) and tons and tons of vegetables… tomatoes, lettuce, kraut, onions and so on. On top they put a yoghurt-garlic dressing.

The döners (that are commonly ate as ‘sandwiches’ here) are real big… like, spread your fingers as far and round as you can, the döner is typically bigger than the circle of your hand (unless you have REAL big hands). I can’t eat a whole one alone!

It’s sooo good… hmmm I should get one tonite!

One of the reasons why it’s so popular is the price. A Döner is 3 Euros on average … how much is that, maybe $4 to $5. A half way decent McDonalds meal is 8 Euros… thats $10-$11! And that’s a basic one with no fancies. You will easily pay $15 per person for a McDonalds meal here. Which is funny because for the same amount I could have fancy italian, chinese or even sushi and be just as full!

So, what is the weirdest food you’ve ever had? Can be foreign but doesn’t have to be. What did you think would be disgusting but ended up tasting great?

7 thoughts on “Let’s talk about….

  1. Snails. I thought they would be slimy and awful, but they weren’t.

    I agree with you about German bread and all. Most Americans cannot eat “ethnic” food unless it’s been Americanized – which, to my point of view, ruins it.

    • Yeah that is true. I was surprised when I found out how Americanized/Europeanized Italian food really is. Apparently it’s completely different from what Italians REALLY eat/how they make it.

      Snails aren’T for me. I only tried one though and what put me a bit off was the fact that they had this incredibly wierd color (from the spices, as I was told).

  2. Interesting. I have a bit of German heritage, but the food traditions haven’t made it. I really, really loved the food we got in the Czech republic, usually a stew of some kind (all of which were yummy) with big steamed dumplings on the side (which were extra yummy). Although at least one local girl told me Czech girls don’t eat traditional Czech food (much)—it makes you fat.

    We also had some pretty good Tex-Mex while we were there…

    • Yeah a lot of eastern european and german food makes you incredibly fat haha… You can’t eat typical german food every day either because so much pork is used – beef costs a leg and an arm here.

      Though on a side note, I do think that there is typical American food besides burgers and fries. You just can’t find a good american BBQ steak here! I recommend everyone go to an American restaurant once when you travel to a foreign country. You’d be surprised. You’d never guess what people consider typical american food!

  3. I’ve been trying to come up with something that I tried that I thought would be horrid and wasn’t. Haven’t been able to.

    I’m not much for ethnic food. I like plain, unadorned, unspiced, simple food and I’m not fond of anything in combination or soupy. In my opinion food should either be eaten with a fork or drank out of a glass. Not much variety in me, I’m afraid.

  4. So, I guess corned beef and cabbage or a Reuben sandwich really would be Irish and not remotely German then? Or would it be strictly American?

Leave a Reply

